GOVERNMENT OF TELANGANA ABSTRACT

Elections - Bye-election to 87-Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly Constituency, Nalgonda District scheduled to be held on 17-04-2021 - Measures to check "Paid News "during election i.e. advertisement in garb of news in Media and related matters and to take up the additional task of keeping a check on the cases of Paid News published in Print Media and telecast in Electronic Media and also Social Media - Constitution of State Level Media Certification and Monitoring Committee (MCMC) - Orders - Issued.

GENERAL ADMINISTRATION (ELECTIONS.A) DEPARTMENT

......

G.O.Rt.No.526

Dated: 25-03-2021 Read the following:

- 1. Hon'ble Supreme Court of India, New Delhi Orders in S.L.P. (c) No. 6679/2004, dated. 13-04-2004.
- 2. Election Commission of India, New Delhi Order No.509/75/2004/JS-1, dated. 15-04-2004.
- 3. Election Commission of India, New Delhi Lr. No. 491/Paid News/2012/ Media, dated, 27-08-2012.
- 4. Election Commission of India, New Delhi Lr. No. 491/Paid News/2019/ Communication, dated. 25-02-2019.
- Election Commission of India, New Delhi Press Note No.ECI/PN/28/2021. dated, 16-03-2021.
- 6. Election Commission of India, New Delhi Letter No. 491/MCMC/2021/Communication, dated. 19-03-2021.

--000--

ORDER:

Pursuant to the directions of the Election Commission of India vide its orders. second to sixth read above. State Level Media Certification and Monitoring Committee (MCMC) is constituted with the members mentioned below as measures to check "Paid News "during election i.e. advertisement in garb of news in Media and related matters and to take up the additional task of keeping a check on the cases of Paid News telecast in Electronic Media i.e. on TV Channels, Cable Networks, Cinema Halls and Broadcast in including private FM channels; publication in Print Media and campaigning in Social Media in connection with the conduct of the Bye-election to 87-Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly Constituency, Nalgonda district scheduled to be held on 17-04-2021.

1) Chief Electoral Officer, Telangana State

- Chairperson
- 2) Smt. Shruti Patil I.I.S., **Nodal Officer** Director (M & C). O/o the Director General (South Zone), P.I.B., M/o I & BC, GOI, (Nominated as Nodal Officer for State level MCMC by D.G., (South Zone), PIB, as per ECI Letter dated. 19-03-2021, 6th read above)
- 3) Any Observer appointed by the ECI

Member

4) Dr. K.Stevenson, Professor & Head Media Advisor, Department of Journalism & Mass Communication. Osmania University, Hyderabad - 500 007.

Member

Dr.P.Manas Krishnakant 1.1.S. Assistant Director, Regional Outreach Bureau O/o the Director General (South Zone), Press Information Bureau. M/o Information & Broadcasting, G.O.I. 2nd Floor, CGOs Towers, Kavadiguda, Hyderabad - 500 080.

Member

6) Sri M.A. Majid, Senior Journalist & Press Council of India, Hyderabad.

Member

7) Sri M. Madhavacharya Assistant Director, Digital Media, (Intermediary Expert / Social Media Expert) O/o the Director, Digital Media, T.S.Secretariat, 5th Floor, B.R.K.Bhavan, Hyderabad - 29.

Member

8) Sri Buddhaprakash Jyoti I.A.S, Addl. Chief Electoral Officer

Member Secretary

The above State Level MCMC shall decide appeals received from both the District Level MCMC and Addl.CEO's Committee on Certification of election advertisement as per the ECI Order No.509/75/2004/JS-1, dated 15/04/2004 besides examining all cases of Paid News on appeal against the decision of District MCMC or cases that they may take up suo motu, in which case it shall direct the concerned R.O. to issue notices to the candidates.

(BY ORDER AND IN THE NAME OF THE GOVERNOR OF TELANGANA)

Dr. SHASHANK GOEL CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER & E.O.SPL. CHIEF SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT

To

The Chairperson and Members of the State level MCMC Constituted. { Along with copy of the ECI Lr. No.491/Paid News/2019/Communication, dt. 27-08-2012 25.02.2019 and 19-03-2021}...

The Collector & District Election Officer, Nalgonda district.

The Returning Officer, 87-Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly Constituency, Nalgonda

district.(w.e.) {Through the Collector & DEO Nalgonda district}.

The Presidents of all Political Parties for the State of Telangana { Recognized National Parties and State Level Parties) { Along with copy of the ECI Lr. No.491/Paid News/2019/Communication, dt. 27-08-2012 25.02.2019 and 19-03-2021.}

The Commissioner, Information & Public Relations Department, Telangana State,

Samachar Bhavan, A.C.Guards, Hyderabad - 500 004.

All the Television Channels / Cable Network Operators/ All India Radio and Private F.M. Channels. Through the Commissioner, Information & Public Relations Department,

Telangana State, Hyderabad.}

1. The Chairperson and Members of the Addl.CEO's Committee on Certification of election advertisements Constituted. (w.e.)

- The Principal Secretary to Govt, Information Technology Electronics and Communications
 Department, Telangana State, Secretariat, At 5th Floor, B.R.K.Bhavan, Hyderabad-29.
- 3. The Director Genera (South Zone), Press Information Bureau, M/o. Information & Broadcasting, GOI, Room No.203, 2nd Floor, CGO Towers, Kavadiguda, Sec'bad -80.
- 4. The Deputy Director General, Prasar Bharathi, Door Darshan Kendra, Telangana State, Ramanthapur, Hyyderabad- 500 013.
- 5. The Station Director, Prasar Bharathi, All India Radio, Saifabad, Hyderabad 500004.
- 6. The P.M. I.T, and S.L.A.. O/o the CEO, T.S. for uploading the G.O.Rt. in the CEOs website.
- 7. All the Officers, in G.A (Elections) Dept., and P.S/ PA to the CEO/ Addl. CEO/ Joint CEO/ Dy. CEO.
- 8. The Secretary, Press Council of India, Soochana Bhavan, 8-C, CGOs Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi 110003.
- 9. Sri Sanjeev Kumar Prasad, Under Secretary, Election Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi 110001.

10. Spare - 1

// FORWARDED :: BY ORDER //

SECTION OFFICER